“The graduation…

“The graduation at Fort Hare offered a moment of introspection and reflection. I was struck most forcefully by the discrepancy between my old assumptions and my actual experience. I had discarded my presumptions that graduates automatically become leaders and that my connection to the Thembu royal house guaranteed me respect. Having a successful career and a comfortable salary were no longer my ultimate goals…. I was not content with my old beliefs.”

From A Long Walk to Freedom, the Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

